Gianluca Carrera
← The register
2026-06-19WrapUnclear✓ Reviewed

dunnhumby launches network alliance with Tesco, B&Q, John Lewis and Waitrose

On 19 June 2026 dunnhumby announced the dunnhumby network alliance, a retail media offering built with ad-tech vendor Kevel that lets brands run and measure campaigns across multiple retailers; Tesco, B&Q (Kingfisher), John Lewis and Waitrose are joining a summer pilot spanning grocery, DIY and health and beauty.

Where the rake sits

From each retailer's seat the first-party shopper data is wrapped into ad inventory sold to brands, with dunnhumby and Kevel sitting between the retailer and the advertiser; the retailers keep media revenue on their own inventory but dunnhumby takes the alliance-level buyer relationship and, presumably, a share for orchestration and measurement. The exact economic split between dunnhumby, Kevel and each retailer is not disclosed in the release.

What happened

  • Announced 19 June 2026 in London by dunnhumby CEO Josh Bottomley.
  • Four launch retailers in the pilot: Tesco, B&Q (owned by Kingfisher), John Lewis and Waitrose.
  • Pilots start summer 2026 across household and DIY, health and beauty, and grocery categories.
  • Technology partner is Kevel, whose Retail Media Cloud powers networks for Chewy, The Home Depot, PayPal, Carwow, Sonae and Dollar General.
  • Press release states retailers 'maintain control of their own media businesses' while adopting shared standards for activation, measurement and reporting.
  • dunnhumby positions the alliance against 'closed ecosystems' and existing retail media fragmentation.

Who is involved

dunnhumbyestablished

Tesco-owned customer data science business that operates Tesco Media and Insight Platform on Clubcard first-party purchase data; it is building and running the Network Alliance as the orchestrator between participating retailers and Kevel's ad infrastructure.

Revenue £362.6m (2022); 2,308 employees (2022); wholly owned subsidiary of Tesco plc.

Kevelestablished

Durham, NC ad-tech company (formerly Adzerk) providing API-based ad-serving infrastructure; its Retail Media Cloud is the technology layer on which the Network Alliance is built.

51-100 employees; Series C private (per Crunchbase); founded 2010.

Tescolisted

UK's largest grocery retailer and parent of dunnhumby; brings Clubcard first-party household data and in-store/online inventory into the alliance pilots.

Revenue £73.712bn (FY2025/26); 330,000 employees; over 23 million UK Clubcard households (FY2024/25). Listed LSE: TSCO.

Kingfisher (B&Q)listed

FTSE 100 home improvement group; its B&Q banner contributes DIY/household first-party retail data and inventory to the alliance pilots.

Group revenue £12.945bn (FY2025/26); B&Q sales £3,971m (FY2025/26). Listed LSE: KGF.

The reading

Where the work is

Who does the enrichment is not settled by the public record. dunnhumby supplies the alliance's media intelligence and measurement, with Kevel providing the ad-serving underneath, but the release does not say whether dunnhumby enriches B&Q, John Lewis and Waitrose transaction data itself, or confirms and aggregates audiences each retailer has already built and packages them for agencies. The retailers contribute purchase data and inventory and, per dunnhumby's own statement, "maintain control of their own media businesses"; pilots start summer 2026 and have not reached rollout.

Enrichability

What makes the substrate worth something to a brand like a CPG or DIY advertiser is the ability to decide which campaign to fund and which households to reach with a measurable in-store/online purchase outcome - Tesco's over-23-million-household Clubcard base plus B&Q, John Lewis and Waitrose shoppers reached through one plan rather than four separate contracts.

The boundary

What crosses to the brand buyer is reach against audiences and closed-loop measurement reports; the row-level Clubcard, B&Q, John Lewis and Waitrose customer data does not cross - it is activated inside the alliance platform, which is the retailers' stated condition of participation. Between the retailers, dunnhumby and Kevel the public release does not disclose data-sharing terms, so what crosses between alliance members is not settled by the sources.

Under-capture

Not determinable from the June 2026 announcement. The deal is at pilot stage with no pricing, revenue share or committed inventory disclosed, so whether non-Tesco retailers are leaving value on the table by routing demand through a Tesco subsidiary rather than their own networks cannot be read from the public facts.

Why it matters

Tesco, B&Q, John Lewis and Waitrose each already run their own retail media business on their own shopper data; what they are handing dunnhumby is the cross-retailer buyer relationship with the brand, which is the one position none of them could build alone. The "maintain control of their own media businesses" line in the release is the giveaway: control of inventory is conceded nothing, control of the advertiser is conceded entirely, and the orchestration seat is where the alliance-level rake will compound. It would be interesting to understand if audiences data enrichment is joined up, or remain on parallel tracks.

The argument this deal tests: The rake is decided before the negotiation begins

Related deals

Sources

  1. dunnhumby.com — primary
  2. en.wikipedia.org — party background
  3. en.wikipedia.org — party background
  4. crunchbase.com — party background
  5. en.wikipedia.org — party background
  6. tescoplc.com — party background
  7. en.wikipedia.org — party background
  8. kingfisher.com — party background

Announced 2026-06-19

How this was classifiedThe register